Roles

Each user can be added to a group by assigning a role from the following:

  • Voucher
    This role indicates a list of users who have a pre-paid voucher for a flight, usually received as a gift. If you use the system's built in support for vouchers, it will add the role automatically. When a flight or training record is entered for a user with this role, the role is removed. This means you can see your liability in terms of vouchers sold but not yet fulfilled. To do this, use the People tab and filter by the role Voucher.
  • Student
    The intention is for the student role to be used to keep track of the current student list of the school or club.
    Users with the Student role are able to view and make bookings, book out aircraft, enter flight details, view their training notes and maintain their personal logbook. See also Student (Lapsed) and Member.
  • Student (Lapsed)
    Students
    make use of the Membership renewal date, which you can set when you create the user's account. This is useful if you charge for student membership and access to the booking system. If they renew membership, the billing system will update the renewal date for you. Otherwise, simply change the renewal date to extend their membership. If the membership lapses, the system moves the user into the Student (Lapsed) role. If you do not want to use this feature, just set a renewal date in the far future.
  • Associate member
    No special permissions exist for users with this role. But you may find this useful if you want to maintain a list of associate members (non-flying members). Any restricted content you make available (such as newsletters) can be hidden from public view but made available to associate members.
  • Member
    The intention is for the member role to represent users who are full members of the club, usually with higher fees than students. They typically have lower training and flying rates (e.g. a member's lease group). If the member is also a student, you can combine the two roles by ticking both boxes.
    Just like the Student role, users with the Member role are able to view and make bookings, book out aircraft, enter flight details, view their training notes and maintain their personal logbook. If the Membership renewal date passes, the Member role is removed and the Member (Lapsed) role is added instead. This means members will be unable to book further lessons until they extend their membership by paying their membership fee or calling the office. If you take payments outside the billing system, edit the user's record, extending the renewal date, usually by one year.
  • Member (Lapsed)
    Members and associate members make use of the Membership renewal date, which you can set when you create the user's account. This is useful if you charge for membership and access to the booking system. If they renew membership, the billing system will update the renewal date for you. Otherwise, simply change the renewal date to extend their membership. If the membership lapses, the system moves the user into the Member (Lapsed) role. If you do not want to use this feature, just set a renewal date in the far future.
  • Engineer
    Engineers are able to add service information to each aircraft. This is done from each aircraft's page - see Entering service information.
  • Instructor
    Instructors have additional permissions in the system and can be booked for training flights by anyone with access to the booking system. It is not necessary to make instructors members as well. Instructors can create, change and remove users, make bookings on behalf of someone else, view the complete list of bookings and complete training notes.
  • Office staff
    Office staff have many more permissions in the system. Be careful to assign this role only to people you trust. Although they cannot book out aircraft (unless also made a member), they can create new users, make bookings on behalf of members and can create new content in the system such as aircraft and newsletters.
  • Safety management
    People with this role can view all safety reports, including confidential and anonymous reports. They can add comments, close reports and export the information in CSV format. The owner has the same permissions, but because some reports can be made concerning staff, Office staff cannot view confidential reports nor close anything. They cannot assign the Safety management role to anyone, the only role that can do this is the Owner. If you have your own safety management staff, you can assign both this and the Office staff role, allowing them to transfer safety reports to aircraft logs and to maintenance schedules.
  • Owner
    As owner, you have full access to the booking system, flights and so on. You can edit any record, even those that have been "locked". Normally only one user is given this role, and just like Office staff, this role should only be assigned to people you trust.